24 September 2010

Friday Freebies

Frightened Rabbit
In case you missed this last week, Frightened Rabbit feature on a wee covers album of songs by indie-pop band The Philistines Jnr, there are more details on the album and a free download on Pitchfork. There is also a wee remix up there from We Were Promised Jetpacks.

I love this band, love 'em, so I was well chuffed when they decided to give away two free tracks to folk on their mailing list. You can download these two tracks, Opinions Versus The Sun (STARS Vs. The Album Leaf) and We Don't Want Your Body (TEEN Remix), by clicking this link.

Hot Chip
"There's a free download available of a 3am rave-gasmic mix of Hand Me Down Your Love by dynamic duo Wild Geese. Click here to get yourself disco'd up".

The Son(s)
I know I keep harping on about this lot, but then I guess I wouldn't do it if give them all of this attention if they didn't deserve it. A while back I posted that they had a couple of tracks up for grabs, well now there's a cracking wee EP too. You can download their 'Radar EP' for nowt over on their Bandcamp, get it done kids.

Hercules Moments
The Aberdonanian bloggers have compiled a cracking wee compilation album called funnily enough, 'Hercules Moments: Vol. 1' which they have posted for free download. It features tracks from a variety of 'local' bands, including Peenko favourites, Indian Red Lopez. Download it here.

British Sea Power

The band have a seven-track EP due out on Monday 4 October. The Zeus EP is the band’s first release since The Man Of Aran soundtrack from 2009 and acts as a wild and wunderbar-wonky precursor to the band’s fourth studio album, set for release in 2011. You can download the lead track from the EP by signing up to their mailing list here.

Factory Kids
The Glasgow experimental pop duo and former Fresh Meat starlets have a new EP out, and wouldn't you believe it, it's available for free. Go and grab yourself a copy from NOECHO Records.

The Ramisco Maki Maki Rocking Horse
This freebie comes courtesy of Highland label Planet Grouch Records, check out their latest release from The Ramisco Maki Maki Rocking Horse, you can download their debut mini album for free using this download code: bpcr-7ta3 be quick, only a few copies available.

John Vanderslice
The American singer-song writer has posted up his 'Green Grow The Rushes Grow' EP for free download on his website.

The Girobabies
The Glasgow psychedelic punk rock outfit have posted a free download of their track 'Bank Charge', taken from their EP 'Social Not Working', download it here kids.

Jamie Sturrock
Another cracking wee release on the fabulous Wiseblood Industries label, this one comes from experimentalist artist Jamie Sturrock. You can download his EP2: Giascape for zero pennies here.

The Glasgow trio are set to return with a new album in October, as a wee taster you can download the track 'Kick Obsession' from it for free, just click the link.

The Pierces
The New York outfits new EP, Love You More, is due out next month, as a taster they're giving away a song from it. Just click here to get your free download of "To The Grave".

The Plimptons

You can download the first 4 tracks off the new Plimptons album for free here.

The Chicago 'party math trio' recently debuted their first official release "Party Mathematics" through cool as fuck DIY label, Big Scary Monsters back in May. Now that the the record has been out for a few months the band have posted it online for free via their Bandcamp page.

Nosiemakers Sampler
In exchange for your email address you can get yourself a free sampler featuring; Ben Rector, Bleu, The Civil Wars, Coal Train Railroad, David Mead, Derek Webb, Green River Ordinance, Joy Williams, Justin McRoberts, Kate York, Katie Herzig, The Last Royals,Lovedrug, Matt Wertz, Matthew Mayfield, Matthew Perryman Jones, Mike Farris, Mikky Ekko, Red Mountain Church, Sandra McCracken, Sleeping At Last, Snowden, Thad Cockrell, Trent Dabbs and Waterdeep. Get it here.

The Celestians

The Scottish alt-rockers have posted up their 'Specimens' EP for download on their Bandcamp.

Smile Smile
The band announced on Twitter a few weeks ago that they would record a Live/Acoustic set, letting their followers decide which songs they wanted to hear they would record them live and make it available for free download. The band were true to their word and here's the fruits of their labour.

Another band who have taken up the mantle of submitting a freebie for you lucky kids alternative dance-rap-band from Germany, called "Laubfroschfresh" with their electrofunky Remix of Yeasayer's O.N.E. Listen to it here, then if you like it download it here.

Trent Reznor
The Nine Inch Nails frontman has a posted a free 5-track EP from The Social Network score that himself and Atticus Ross created, get it here.

White Denim
A very late addition to this weeks freebies comes courtesy of Texan garage rockoutfit, White Denim, who have posted a free album up for download. It's not the “official” follow-up to 2008′s Fits, which they are still working on that, but it should be give you a good indication of what we can expect. Download it here.

Kowalskiy's Komplimentary Korner

Hold The Suspect

This weeks freebie from the doc is the debut EP by Edinburgh alt-rock outfit, Hold The Suspect. You can download their EP for free on their Bandcamp, you can also check out Kowalskiy's review of their latest EP, 'Are You Home yet?', here.


  1. When I get home tonight I'm well going to download that Plimptons freebie. Though I don't think they'll ever reach the heights of 'Jolly Top Hat' or 'William Shatner'


  2. lol me too Boab. thanks for the info guys.