22 January 2010

Friday Freebies

The American indie-legends are set to release their best of album,
'Quarantine The Past' in March, which will feature 23 tracks spanning their entire career from 1989 to 1999. In celebration (promotion) of this, they have put a wee taster up as a free download, a remastered version of 'Gold Soundz', download yourself a copy here.

Evening Chorus
If you missed out on my post on the Evening Chorus the other week, then now is your chance to get acquainted by this rather excellent Welsh band. They have put up both of their EP's, 'All That We Had' and 'Look Forward to the Day', to download for free. Head on over to their Bandcamp page and get downloading I promise you won't regret it.

The Ruby Suns
If I am honest I would have to admit that I know very little about the music coming out of New Zealand these days, off the top of my head I could come up with three names, D4, Flight of the Conchords and these guys. If you missed out on their last album 'Sea Lions' then don't let them pass you by this time. They have put a cracking little indie pop song called 'Cranberry' up for you to download here. (Try DiS if the first link doesn't work)

The indie label are giving away a free Sampler when you sign up to their new mailing list, in exchange you will recieve a free download of their Sampler Album featuring Frightened Rabbit, The Twilight Sad and We Were Promised Jetpacks. Sign up here.

Errors/Twilight Sad
Ever wondered what Errors would sound like if the Twilight Sad got to remix them, then wonder no more. Andy from the Sad's remix of 'Bridge or Cloud' is up to download for free over at the NME's website. Errors new album 'Come Down With Me' is out on the 3rd of March, get it pencilled in your diaries.

Mogwai are set to release their first ever live album, 'Special Moves' on Rock Action Records this spring and in order to wet your appetite a little they're giving away a free MP3 of the song '2 Rights Make 1 Wrong' in exchange for your details over at this minisite www.mogwaispecialmoves.com

Kathryn Williams

I got sent her album the other day, pretty damn good ti was too. Apparently it's her fifth album, I must admit that she had totally passed me by, when I first got the album I admit that I actually thought why the fuck have I been sent the new Kathryn Jenkins album. My fail. Her new album, 'The Quickening’ is out on the 22nd of February, as a wee taster she's put up alive recording of new song 'Sustain Pedal' up to download, to get yourself a copy all you have to do is sign up to her mailing list here.

The online indie store is giving away a whole host of free MP3's,
including tracks from Vampire Weekend, Nirvana, Lou Barlow, Sea Wolf, DOOM and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, just click here.

Every week it seems as if I am posting about some kind of freebie Sub Pop, this week it's their 'Cyber Sex Digital Sampler', which features among others Avi Buffalo, Nirvana, Handsome Furs, Flight of the Conchords and Vetiver. Get yourself a copy here.

North Atlantic Oscillation
I think this will be the third time that I'll have posted about this song, but seriously if you haven't already downloaded yourself a copy of 'Cell Count' get your finger oot!
You can get yourself a free cop in exchange for a tweet here.
This will be the last time I mention how great this track is, for this week at least.


  1. Your NME link goes to a Local Natives 6Music Session btw.
    And your spelling is shocking :)

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. thanks Jim, links and spelling all fixed (I hope)

  4. Do i go on the bitching list for complaining? :)

  5. afraid so, but you do realise that I will be bitching about you, to you. Can u handle that?! ;)

  6. So long as I get to agree that I'm a bawbag.

  7. that's why I love you

  8. And here I though you just loved me for my looks :)